“Books for Recycling” Initiative – Information and Personal Experience

Hello all! 🙂

I know, it has been ages since I’ve been active on WordPress, however, life has managed (not to mention work) to get in the way.

Anyway, I’d like to pick up where I left off, meaning writing new articles 🙂

Last weekend I participated in a very cool initiative and feel like spreading the word to all of you wonderful people.

So a couple of weeks ago, a close friend of mine sent me an invite over Facebook to some event. ‘Oh, another boring event that I won’t attend’, I said to myself. This time round though, I decided to have a read through and decide whether I want to go or not. To my surprise, I was wrong! It was an invite to take part in an initiative called (roughly) “Books for recycling”, which is returning for the third consecutive year and is hitting multiple cities across Bulgaria – Plovdiv, Sofia, Pleven and last but certainly not least – Burgas.

The idea of the initiative is to motivate people to recycle everything that’s recyclable and educate them about the consequences of not doing so. In short – becoming green 🙂

11169604_978279222205258_7303884709426898471_o

Your part would be to bring over, to one of the collection points (Sofia had two), a kg of plastic (emptied of its’ contents and cleaned up) and in return – get a voucher which entitles you to a book from a pre-planned (and advertised) list. The maximum vouchers that a person can get is 2, regardless of the amount of plastic which was brought in. The organisers were keen on ensuring that more people got a chance to bring a book back home.

The book selection has been carefully prepared and aimed at the youngest participants, with classics such as ‘The Wizard of Oz”, “The Call of the Wild”, “Ian Bibian”, “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer” and so on.

Organisers are the publishing company Smart Books and the Credo Bonum foundation, which have managed to successfully pull off this event with the help of their partners at the US Council in Bulgaria, the Bulgarian-American Credit Bank, Ecopack Bulgaria, The Mall and the Burgas and Plovdiv County Councils.

Personally, I’d say that “Books for recycling” is a great initiative and hope that it will be a long-lasting one. I’ve met quite positive young people and had a great experience (as most people did, judging from the photos 🙂 )

Below, you can find pics from the event and more.

Disclaimer: I do not own the pictures in this article. Their respective owner (to the best of my knowledge is Credo Bonum).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on ““Books for Recycling” Initiative – Information and Personal Experience

  1. Great article about great project! Good to hear that such a wonderful initiative happen! 🙂 Thanks for spreading the word! 😉

Leave a Reply

